This feature can be convenient in many situations. For example when you’ve invited your clients to a project and want to give them visibility on the current progress whilst maintaining full admin rights for solely your team.
To set up a new personalised role, click on the green plus button next to the Roles headline. This will open a modal window where you can create a new role and assign it to someone.
In the Role name section, fill in the name of this new role. Next, select which actions you want the role to be restricted of. You can apply it across all of your projects by clicking on Select all or you can only pick some. Finally, you can set which users will fall under this role category. To save some time, you can pick a whole pre-made team (or multiple teams) by simply clicking on its name. Don’t forget to save this setting by clicking on the green Save button at the bottom.
You can change any of these settings at any point in the future.
You can edit or delete your personalised roles whenever you wish. Open the three-dot menu next to a selected role and click on Edit or Delete.
If you pick Edit, a modal window (similar to the one appearing creating a role) will open. Here, you can change everything connected to the role – name, restricted actions, and finally selected projects and users.
If you try to delete a role, a modal window with a confirmation request will appear. By clicking on the red Delete button, you will permanently delete it.
Mutually exclusive roles
As you can see here, some roles are mutually exclusive. If a user is a Company captain or a Project manager they can’t simultaneously be restricted of some task actions and vice versa – a user with a role forbidding them to perform a specific action cannot be appointed a Company captain or a Project manager.
What if a user tries to perform a task outside of their role restrictions?
If you select a role for a user banning them from performing a specific action, a modal window like this one will appear: